How find good projects ideas to learn how to code

Introduction

As a self-taught developer I always think about what kind of project I can do that can be different and impressive from all other projects that a lot of programmers have already done, but the truth is different and I want to share with you my opinion about a good project to practice and improve your software development skills.

  • Don't invent anything new

  • Projects idea made from other

  • Make mistakes

  • Doesn't matter what you do but how you do it

Don't invent anything new

Every time I sit in front of my computer I have always the same feeling of not doing something good enough, but the real problem is that in my mind seems always that I have to invent a new tech startup that will change the world, instead the reality is completely different and I think we should care more about the goal that we want to achieve with projects, it could be: practice a library or framework, study a new programming language, get deeper into some concepts; but all the time we should be aware of the goal we set for a project and remember it when we do it.

Projects idea made from other

So once I figured out the fact that I don't have to worry about inventing anything revolutionary when I write a project, I figured out that I can take inspiration from ideas that other people have already created, because my goal is to learn. Said this I always try to start from the idea as a starting point by recreating my version of the project as much as possible.

Make mistakes

I always put myself in the mindset that I can't make mistakes because if I make mistakes means that I will never get my goal to get a career as a Software developer, but I think that this is a completely wrong mindset. I have always known that making mistakes is normal, especially if you are self-taught you will have a really difficult path and I simply want to make less mistakes that I can, but this in a certain way brought me to think that I can't make mistakes.

Doesn't matter what you do but how you do it

I think one of the most important things I have learned is not just what you do, but how you do it. You could have the best idea in the world, but if you create it in a bad way and don't learn anything, only copying and pasting code from a GitHub repository, it's completely useless. However, if you create a simple idea but follow all the best practices and try your best to improve it, it's more valuable than the thing itself.

Conclusion

I hope these 3 points that changed my view on the value and the aim behind a project can help you to get better.

Follow and support me:

Special thanks if you subscribe to my channel :)

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Paolo Ferrari by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!